Approved For The Chase Ink Bold: Mythbusting The Chase 4 Credit Card Limit

Today I was approved for the Chase Ink Bold Card with a 50,000 point sign up bonus (after spending $10,000 in the first 3 months). This happens to be my fifth Chase credit card. I also have the Chase Freedom, United Club and Explorer cards, and my recent favorite the Chase Sapphire Preferred Visa. I’ve read some FlyerTalk posts thato claim that Chase will not approve you for more than 4 cards/open credit lines, however in my case that apparently is not true. I don’t know if the card limit is just a myth, or whether a business card does not count toward the limit, but either way, I’m happy to try out the Ink Bold for my business expenses!

Although I was not instantly approved, I simply called the reconsideration line, provided some information about my business lieyes annual revenue, industry, number of employees, etc. and after moving a chunk of myavailable credit from one card to the Ink Bold I was approved. The rep was very nice and commented several times about my excellent history with Chase.

Some details about the card:

The Ink  Bold is famous for its very generous 5x Ultimate Rewards points on Internet, Phone, TV,  and Office Supply stores. You also earn 2x points on Gas and Hotel purchases. Everything else earns 1 point per dollar. Both bonus categories are limited to the first $50,000 in spending per year. Like he Sapphire, the Ink Bold also features noforeign transaction fees.

Finally, I was approved for the charge card version, which is different from the new Ink Bold Plus, which is the credit card version of the Ink Bold.

Do I Recommend Applying For This Card?

Considering that Ultimate Rewards points can be transferred 1:1 into United, Southwest, Hyatt, Marriott points, this is a great sign up bonus. It’s been widely assumed that theses lucrative bonuses are becoming more and more scarce, however I don’t know if I buy that with Citi’s new Hilton card, and the Ink Bold Plus being released with greatsign up bonuses in the last 2 weeks. Regardless,if you spend a lot at offic stores, and have considerable business expenses, this is a great card to have in your portfolio.

Leave a Reply

